Indoor Outdoor Putting Green


Improve your game by practicing putting in your basement or backyard.

08 Oct, 2010

What is the rule concerning a ball that moves on the putting green while you are swinging the putter?

Posted by: aaa_janitor In: Putting Greens

Meaning ball moves when you have already started the backswing of the putter and you are about to make the stroke.

StumbleUpon It!

Technorati Tags: , ,

4 Responses to "What is the rule concerning a ball that moves on the putting green while you are swinging the putter?"

1 | Lawrie

October 8th, 2010 at 12:41 pm

Avatar

There may be a penalty of one stroke in this instance.

Rule 14-5 Playing Moving Ball touches on it:

"When the ball begins to move only after the player has begun the stroke or the backward movement of his club for the stroke, he incurs no penalty under this Rule for playing a moving ball, but he is not exempt from any penalty under the following Rules:
· Ball at rest moved by player – Rule 18-2a.
· Ball at rest moving after address – Rule 18-2b."

So while you are not penalised under Rule 14-5, you will be penalised under Rule 18-2b if you had addressed the ball prior to beginning your backswing.

Rule 18-2 Ball at Rest Moved, By Player, Partner, Caddie or Equipment,

b. Ball Moving After Address

"If a player’s ball in play moves after he has addressed it (other than as a result of a stroke), the player is deemed to have moved the ball and incurs a penalty of one stroke.
The ball must be replaced, unless the movement of the ball occurs after the player has begun the stroke or the backward movement of the club for the stroke and the stroke is made."

The definition of "address" is:

Addressing the Ball
A player has "addressed the ball" when he has taken his stance and has also grounded his club, except that in a hazard a player has addressed the ball when he has taken his stance.

2 | Robert

October 8th, 2010 at 12:41 pm

Avatar

do a tiger mid swing stop. because if you hit the ball it is a penalty. if you don’t ground your club, and it moves you can move it back.

3 | Courtney Munoz

October 8th, 2010 at 12:41 pm

Avatar

I dont think there is rule for that. Im a golfer. But there is a rule if you accidently hit the ball if you havent hit it yet as when your adressing the ball and accidently tap it or something before you hit it. HOPE I HELPED!!

Comment Form